Road to Gravel

I asked where you were going
You drove by and answered
Little boy, I’m going crazy, wanna come?

Little did I know, I already was on the road to where he was heading
Even though he never told me exactly where the roads met to be considered losing sanity

But I could taste the rusting familiarity on my tongue
As I fell face first into the gravel
After being warned that I was doing it all wrong

Stubborn, I was, but needed to learn on my own before it was too late to be taught

And now I’m too old to be scolded twice and too young to have watched a thousand sunsets wipe across my eyes

But I felt the rose petals drop before they rose up from the ground
And I kissed them

Writings from the cafe

Leave a Reply

