Soft doors

Abandoned me if you have to
But I left before you could stand to
Pick up the door knob
And place it back into the hole
And screw it back in

I looked at you with soft eyes
And a good heart
But my past clouded my judgement
And I’m sorry that I walked fast

I needed a home in myself
And I kept trying to open your window and
Climb inside without you realizing
It wasn’t even locked

I hope good things sweep you up
And wipe your slate clean of fear
And pain
And you pick which doors to stay open

I can’t say I didn’t see this coming
But I wish it were different
But I packed my bags
Before you unpacked yours

Soft Doors. // B.T

Leave a Reply

