Shrill Midnight

Writing out of pure calm
Walking through midnight with my open palm
I feel light compared to when I took flight
I can be open now, flood the gates
Trickling into the grass, slithering snakes

And some might say, I’m too late
Others may scowl, I shouldn’t wait
I’m here now, still here
Soft as a teddy, heart is near

You’re not scary, and if you are
I’m not sure why, but I haven’t wandered too far
Because I know what it’s like to confide in an angel
And have the devil’s laugh drill into you

Leave a Reply

