Feared Childhood

Hello bellows stranger, smiling
Response returned, screams
Watching beady eyes, dialing
Numbers shredded through their mind as they’re calculating how long another reply is going to take

Strangled by the tension, eating away at the shrapnel covered bones that lay upon my beating heart
Burying me among the blossoming beats
Grinning as I return the glance

Little was known, the little boy inside of me was protecting the adult me from what happened long ago
Shrieks, laughs, mocking
Taunting and teasing
Sticks, word stones strewn

Quickly, racing around in the circles of my bottomless galaxy
Get out of here, but my body is responding in similar ways as my child – like self did

Up, worried, scared running further
Soaring through the wind with whiplashes of the scenery warping beneath my feet

Home, at last.

Leave a Reply

