Swelling of Dwelling

When I was young, they tried to teach me
Attempted to implant techniques into my little brain, coping strategies regarding grieving
But what they failed to provide me with, was the knowledge of how to get over my past lives selves
All that matters then was my future instead of just being

So here I am, wallowing, swallowing whole my earliest memories
Wondering what I’d tell myself back them about what I know now

Most likely tell him that not dwelling
Only makes, creates more swelling
In your mind
That it’s okay from time to time to unwind
From everyone, everything including yourself
Instead of focusing on the version if you that’s on a shelf

– Somethings I wish I could tell my younger self // Lukas Owen

Leave a Reply

